Welcome to The Life of Riley!

photoAfter a couple of months off from blogging for WorkInSports.com, I’ve decided that I want to start writing again. I enjoy writing. It helps me establish my point of view on the world while learning about who I am in the process. I also believe, as well as have been told by others, that I’m good at it. The only way I will continue to improve this strength of mine is to consistently flex my writing muscles. I want to be able to look back on the earlier part of my life and know exactly why I chose to do the things that I did personally and professionally.

In terms of what you can expect from style, I plan on being as authentic to my personality as possible. Regarding  content, I plan on writing about the things that truly matter to me. Although I never want to limit myself to subject matter, right now I think that means the sports business, the marketing world, entertainment industry, self development, technology and entrepreneurship. While I do simply love reading about any of these topics on a regular basis, I think it’s important to take a step back when necessary in order develop my own take on things. Maybe I disagree with something that happened in the world or think there are better ways out there to add value. There are so many lessons to be learned all around us, if only we stop what we’re doing once in awhile to reflect and actually realize what they are. I’ll do my best to share the ones that I’ve learned so far and will continue to learn along the way to a happy, successful and fulfilling life.

Speaking of lives, as you may have noticed, I’ve named my blog “The Life of Riley.” “The Life of Riley” is an idiom that means a carefree, comfortable and thoroughly enjoyable way of living. I don’t know who coined this phrase, but it sure does an awesome job of summarizing what I want my life to represent, not to mention the direct tie-in to my last name. As much I sweat the small stuff from time to time, I really do strive to not worry so much because more often than not, things are going to be just fine. Furthermore, there’s no sense in living in discomfort. America is the land of opportunity, and I plan on taking advantage of my natural talents and upbringing to live to my own standard of comfort. Finally, I’ve always been all about having a good time. You only have one life to live, so you might as well make it count and have fun along the way.

I’m really excited to get back into writing and give you an all-access look into seeing the world from my perspective. At the end of the day, my ultimate hope is for you to learn something from me regularly and apply it to improve the quality of your life. I encourage your comments and feedback along the way. Thanks!

This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

